It’s Time To Punish Idaho Drivers With Out-Of-State Plates
If there is one thing that Idaho loves, it's calling out people who aren't from Idaho. It's a tradition that is as prominent as fry sauce and it begs the question: what if Idahoans could make money by reporting people with out-of-state license plates?
How badly are "transplants" breaking the law?
While some Idaho drivers will issue the one-finger salute to drivers without Idaho plates for the sake of hating "transplants"; there is a valid legal reason for people to be upset. Idaho law states that:
If you're going to be living in Idaho for at least 90 days continually, you'll need to register your out-of-state car with the Idaho DMV.
Now, this obviously doesn't mean that every vehicle we see on the road with out-of-town plates is someone who has lived here more than 90 days. Despite that, you'll still see plenty of drivers sharing their true feelings about those out-of-state plates. Perhaps we should just assume that these people who are so outraged about drivers from out of state just really want to be upstanding citizens of the law. Let's put the hammer of the law down, people!
What if you could report an out-of-state license plate... and get paid for it?
That's right - a bounty system. I mean, we can call it for what it is and say it's getting paid for tattle-telling but a "bounty" sounds way better. Here's the major question: how much money would it take for you to rat out your neighbor for having an out-of-state license plate?
Would you accept $100 from Ada County to submit a photo of an out-of-town license plate that is literally sitting next door? Should it be more? Less?
What if you could make money reporting your co-workers - at what cost would you report them? I would love to hear what you think here and who knows? Perhaps we could all be making a little bit of extra cash one day if this is ever implemented.