The State Department has issued a warning to all American Citizens not to travel to five Mexican States.  The level four warning is due to high crime, kidnapping, carjacking, and other crimes that have been committed against American Citizens.    The Mexican States not to travel to are :Colima, Guerrero, Michoacan, Sinaloa, and Tamaulipas due to crime.  The State Department revealed that the US Government has limited abilities protect and provide emergency services in Mexico.  State Department employees are prohibited from traveling to these areas.

If you are traveling to Mexico here are some safety recommendations from our government:

Avoid traveling at night.

Use toll roads when possible.

Be extra cautious when visiting banks and ATMs.

Have a contingency plan in case of trouble when traveling to Mexico.

Do not show signs of wealth, like wearing expensive clothes, watches. or jewelry.

If you are committed to traveling to Mexico or other declared dangerous countries, check out these two links here and here for guidelines and life saving tips.



More From Idaho’s Talk Station